Watch: Standish and Preece, Christchurch Photographers

Friday 20 August 2021

In 1885, photographers Frank Berry Standish and Alfred Ernest Lyttelton Preece founded the studio Standish and Preece. Their partnership only lasted 5 years but the business endured for 135, making it New Zealand’s longest-running photography studio.

Opening on 9 July 2021, the Museum's exhibition Standish and Preece: Christchurch Photographers 1885 – 2020 showcases how the studio's photographs document the changing faces of Cantabrians as well as the changing business of photography.

In this free public talk at the Friends of Canterbury Museum monthly meeting, the exhibition's curator Dr Jill Haley discussed the studio's history, her role in developing the exhibition and the trends she has observed in the Standish and Preece collection.

Jill was joined by Curator Special Projects Dan Stirland, who spoke about the Museum's project to catalogue and digitise the approximately 75,000 negatives in the Standish and Preece collection. This talk took place on 7 July 2021.

More stories

knife thumb
View

Roald Amundsen's Pocket Knife

Thu, 30 Sep 2021

Canterbury Museum cares for the knife Roald Amundsen used for cutting and erecting the pole on which the Norwegian flag...
Martha
View

An Un-egg-spected Find

Tue, 21 Dec 2021

Every now and then we find something in the collection that no one knew we had. During the egg collection...
IMG 2052 Large
View

The First Lions Born in the South Island

Tue, 15 Mar 2022

Although these lions form a family group in Fur, Fangs and Feathers, they're not related and came from very different...
Jump to accessibilty navigation